Monday, January 27, 2014

ALA Awards 2014

Bright and early this morning, Tara and I were in front of our computers watching the 2014 American Library Association Youth Media Awards announcements from Philadelphia.  (Tara had the advantage of a video stream that was a few seconds ahead of mine, so I heard her reaction a few seconds before I heard each announcement.  Ugh!)  Many of our favorites from 2013 received awards; I was cheering along with the crowd.

The (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award Committee named three honor books:
  • Ball by Mary Sullivan
  • A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems
  • Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
And the 2014 Geisel Award winner is . . .
The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli

The Caldecott Committee named three honor books:
  • Journey by Aaron Becker
  • Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle
  • Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner
And the 2014 Caldecott Award winner is . . . 
Locomotive by Brian Floca

The Newbery Commitee named four honor books:
  • Doll Bones by Holly Black
  • The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes
  • One Came Home by Amy Timberlake
  • Paperboy by Vince Vawter
And the 2014 Newbery Award winner is . . .
Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell

You can find a complete list of the award winners on the ALA website.


  1. Sorry for the spoilers - it is so hard not to react! We had some good winners. I was happy to see Flora and Ulysses and Penny and Her Marble on the list.

  2. We loved the early morning excitement here too! There were some good winners this year. I'm always a bit disappointed when some of my favorites don't get recognized, but I was happy with the results this year.